Tags

, , , ,

expertI am a very opinionated person. The people who know me well will roll their eyes and attest to that. My opinions, however, are usually based on experience. And if the subject doesn’t allow for that, a variety of sources and information. Sure, I may read something interesting and exclaim it, but I will always go and do the relevant research and if I was informatively wronged, I’ll say so.

Due to my strong opinions, I make some extreme decisions. I was vegan for a while. This was an interesting decision to make. It opened my eyes to many, many things. But nothing quite as much as how many nutrition experts I knew. All of a sudden, everyone around me became seriously “well-read” on nutrition. I always asked how many of them ever tried it, or have read more than two articles about it. Very few met one of the criteria, let alone both. Yet they would all tell me how bad it was for me. Some of them were severely obese. I just found it amusing.

I am no longer vegan. I didn’t start eating animal products again because I realised I needed ten times the amount of protein the body can absorb. Or because you can’t get iron from any green leafy veggies. Or because I need to drink milk and absorb the calcium that is difficult to absorb because of various techniques employed by the dairy industry. There is a lot of sarcasm here for those of you that are not an expert on everything.

I do, however, still make extreme decisions. I do that for many reasons. “I like to push boundaries” is probably the most voted for answer.

About five years ago I began fasting twice a year for between five and seven days, depending. Low and behold. I was surrounded by people that were experts on fasting. It is bad for you. Some people, upon finding out the details of what I’m doing, will simply say to me “you cannot do it, the body cannot survive without food for that long and you will get sick with in a couple days.” Take a guess how many of those people have tried fasting as a general detox and cleansing process? Not religious, because most religious fasts allow you to eat at certain times etc. But no food. Not a gram for the entire time. Sure water and loads of fluids but no food.

0.

In fact, one person tried it out to prove me wrong, and still fasts on occasion.

So I am going to despell some myths, from my experience. Please bare in mind I had some blood tests done at one stage by a med student friend of mine during a fast. My results were perfect. Blood sugar was a little low but everything else was spot on. Impeccable. Interesting hey? So here we go:

You can survive without food for seven days. One activist went 73 days without food and had no long term problems.

I actually feel pretty good once I am through the first two days. The first two days are terrible but on the third day I always experience a truly magnificent thing. I feel like I wake up. Colours are brighter, smells are hypnotising. I feel light and full of energy. Best I have ever felt.

I exercise right through the fast. Everyone says I should not be able to, but I feel more energetic than ever and exercise is way more enjoyable. Sorry folks.

It is easy. It is not. Hardest thing I have ever done.

I have been doing this twice a year for five years now. And I am in good physical condition. I have a little bit of a belly, but otherwise I am great. It really is not as dangerous as you think. So, nutrition experts all around me, shut up. Thanks.

image credit

