Tags

, , ,

calisthenicsAs it usually happens this time of year, exercise becomes a focal point. The indulgences of the festive season begin to take their toll and, with the new year and the resulting resolutions, detoxes and exercise routines become a priority. I am no different in this respect. I have always swung from one extreme to the next. I train hard and eat impeccably throughout a relatively long period of time, to the point of madness, then fall into a party hard and eat whatever routine for a while. Until that, too, becomes unbearable.

Yesterday I started my exercise routine. I decided to jump with both feet into the deep end. There is an outdoor gym two and a half kilometers from my house. That means a nice chilled jog there, pull ups, push ups and sit ups and a good distance back to do interval running. I figured that I would time myself, the jog, forty pull ups (in different styles), 60 push ups and a couple sit ups and then the interval run back. Improve the time daily and increase the sets every two weeks or so. That was until I arrived at the gym yesterday.

There were these two gents built like Spartans, doing an exercise that I really didn’t think was possible. Your standard pull up, but when your chin reaches the bar, you continue to pull yourself up higher until you get your chest over the bar, then you push up similar to a dip. That with a clap at the top of the dip. So basically a pull up 5000 with a clap. absolutely madness. Naturally I had a chat with them, because I was keen to find out what they were eating to create such super strength. Their answer? Calisthenics. It is basically advanced body weight exercises originating from, yes, the Spartans.

Here is a little video to help you understand the kind of strength I am referring to:

Image credit

